Etiäinen

Etiäinen

 

Those wailing hours, breath steaming

windows. I saw you in every car

passing by outside. I heard you

 

snoring when the heater kicked on,

sending groans through the infrastructure

of this aching house. I saw you

 

lifting fingertips towards me

when branches drifted in the wind

to scratch against my office window: it’s cold,

 

and you’re alone. Still,

I do the laundry you left behind. Dutifully

fold it the way you taught me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

