Myopia

Image

Myopia

 

Another bleary anticipation

of sunrise and garbage

trucks rumbling past the trash

bins I forgot to fill

with the bags still sitting

beyond the back door.

 

Hindsight, as they say,

but I haven’t seen 20/20 in years,

and the first time I wore glasses

was the first time I saw the leaves on the trees.

For some reason, that made me cry, and my mother, too.

 

Bears don’t make passes

at cubs who wear glasses,

so for years I just squinted.

 

Imagination, like beer goggles,

can do wonders at a club,

in the haze,

but damned if it can’t horrify us

when things become clearer.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Poetry

2 responses to “Myopia

  1. Jody, this one is a keeper, for certain. I really like the opening stanza.

Leave a Reply

